Personal tools

HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012

From HaskellWiki

< HaskellImplementorsWorkshop(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Programme)
(Add links to some authors G+ pages)
 
(36 intermediate revisions by 5 users not shown)
Line 14: Line 14:
   
 
== Programme ==
 
== Programme ==
 
'''N.B. The order of the talks will change.'''
 
   
 
9:00-10:30 Session 1
 
9:00-10:30 Session 1
* '''GHC Status Update''' (Simon Peyton Jones and Simon Marlow)
+
* '''GHC Status Update''' (Simon Peyton-Jones) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/1/19/Hiw2012-simon-peyton-jones.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Pucbf8_hGQ Video]
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Marlow|Why can't I get a stack trace?]]''' (Simon Marlow)
+
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Schilling|A Trace-based Just-in-time Compiler for Haskell]]''' ([https://plus.google.com/u/1/105505259233112524428/posts Thomas Schilling]) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/a/a2/Hiw2012-thomas-schilling.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PtEcLs2t9Ws Video]
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Schilling|A Trace-based Just-in-time Compiler for Haskell]]''' (Thomas Schilling)
+
* First Lightning Talks Session
  +
** '''HdpH''' (Philip W Trinder) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/5/53/Hiw2012-philip-trinder.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w6BYyL5XQgM Video]
  +
** '''dup -- explicit unsharing''' (Joachim Breitner) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/a/a2/Hiw2012-joachim-breitner.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DGsVX7Qqv-0 Video]
  +
** '''Core diving''' (Peter Wortmann) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/9/92/Hiw2012-peter-wortmann.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kBm1sW3hNck Video]
   
 
10:30-11:00: Break
 
10:30-11:00: Break
   
 
11:00-12:30: Session 2
 
11:00-12:30: Session 2
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Newton|Bringing Atomic Memory Operations to a Lazy Language]]''' (Ryan Newton)
+
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Newton|Bringing Atomic Memory Operations to a Lazy Language]]''' (Ryan Newton) [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xiPrpWQN7m0 Video]
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/deVries|Cloud Haskell 2.0]]''' (Edsko de Vries)
+
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/deVries|Cloud Haskell 2.0]]''' (Duncan Coutts and Edsko de Vries) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/4/46/Hiw2012-duncan-coutts.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jJ2paFuErM Video]
* First Lightning Talks Session
+
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Marlow|Why can't I get a stack trace?]]''' ([https://plus.google.com/u/1/107890464054636586545/posts Simon Marlow]) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/6/6c/Hiw2012-simon-marlow.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0c4L-AURDQ Video]
   
 
12:30-14:00: Lunch Break
 
12:30-14:00: Lunch Break
   
 
14:00-15:30: Session 3
 
14:00-15:30: Session 3
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Broberg|haskell-suite]]''' (Niklas Broberg)
+
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Diatchki|Implementing Type-Level Literals in GHC]]''' (Iavor S. Diatchki) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/1/11/Hiw2012-iavor-diatchki.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C4D96LVtRMo Video]
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Lentczner|Haskell Platform: Field Report and Future Goals]]''' (Mark Lentczner)
+
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Lentczner|Haskell Platform: Field Report and Future Goals]]''' ([https://plus.google.com/u/1/110093032685461606610/posts Mark Lentczner]) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/9/98/Hiw2012-mark-lentczner.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=st22QE-g0uo Video]
 
* Second Lightning Talks Session
 
* Second Lightning Talks Session
  +
** '''Splittable random number generators''' (Michal Palka) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/7/74/Hiw2012-michal-palka.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZU4qWn9QfEM Video]
  +
** '''zoom-cache''' ([https://plus.google.com/u/1/101555949501667191720/posts Conrad Parker]) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/5/50/Hiw2012-conrad-parker.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h9zxDWt8hAU Video]
  +
** '''Indentation Sensitive Parsing''' (Michael D. Adams) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/f/f6/Hiw2012-michael-d-adams.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3F6XbrsjLsk Video]
  +
** '''Optimisation of Generic Programs through Inlining''' (José Pedro Magalhães) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/4/42/Hiw2012-jose-pedro-magalhaes.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m-ZU6rwm3Ow Video]
   
 
15:30-16:00: Cake Break
 
15:30-16:00: Cake Break
   
 
16:00-18:00: Session 4
 
16:00-18:00: Session 4
* '''HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Stutterheim|Web browser programming with UHC's JavaScript backend]]''' (J. Stutterheim and A. Vermeulen)
+
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Stutterheim|Web browser programming with UHC's JavaScript backend]]''' (Atze Dijkstra) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/5/5f/Hiw2012-atze-dijkstra.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1eGX1lYOBY Video]
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Diatchki|Implementing Type-Level Literals in GHC]]''' (Iavor Diatchki)
+
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Schuster|Making cabal-install non-destructive]]''' (Philipp Schuster) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/5/50/Hiw2012-philipp-schuster.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4QmkyN28Qs Video]
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Schuster|Making cabal-install non-destructive]]''' (Philipp Schuster and Andres Löh)
+
* '''[[HaskellImplementorsWorkshop/2012/Broberg|haskell-suite]]''' ([https://plus.google.com/u/1/108274216271926634309/posts Niklas Broberg]) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/9/94/Hiw2012-niklas-broberg-haskell-suite.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bQP4wldPX4c Video]
 
* Third Lightning Talks Session and Beyond Haskell Discussion
 
* Third Lightning Talks Session and Beyond Haskell Discussion
  +
** '''GUMSMP''' (Malak Aljabri) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/c/cf/Hiw2012-malak-aljabri.pdf Slides]
  +
** '''HERMIT for Haskell Impl.''' (Andy Gill) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/f/ff/Hiw2012-andy-gill.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PBp-K2NyZvE Video]
  +
** '''API update tool''' (Roman Cheplyaka) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/b/bb/Hiw2012-roman-cheplyaka.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ae-6uIMQPmU Video]
  +
** '''Hmm...''' ([https://plus.google.com/u/1/108274216271926634309/posts Niklas Broberg]) [http://www.haskell.org/wikiupload/e/e0/Hiw2012-niklas-broberg-hmm.pdf Slides], [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MoxqBGaTmWQ Video]
   
 
== Organisers ==
 
== Organisers ==
Line 52: Line 58:
 
* [http://www.scs.stanford.edu/~davidt/ David Terei] (Stanford University)
 
* [http://www.scs.stanford.edu/~davidt/ David Terei] (Stanford University)
 
* [http://www.johantibell.com/ Johan Tibell] - co-chair (Google)
 
* [http://www.johantibell.com/ Johan Tibell] - co-chair (Google)
  +
  +
  +
[[Category:Community]]

Latest revision as of 10:36, 19 September 2012

The Haskell Implementors Workshop is an informal affair, aimed at bringing together people behind the Haskell infrastructure. It provides a forum where people working on compilers, tools, or libraries for Haskell development can bat around ideas, share experiences and ask for feedback from fellow experts. There are no proceedings, just a mixture of short talks, longer talks, discussion and demos.

The Haskell Implementors Workshop will run again this year, co-located with ICFP 2012.

Contents

[edit] 1 Links

[edit] 2 Important Dates

  • Tuesday 10th July: Proposal Deadline
  • Friday 27th July: Notification
  • Friday 14th September: Workshop

[edit] 3 Programme

9:00-10:30 Session 1

10:30-11:00: Break

11:00-12:30: Session 2

12:30-14:00: Lunch Break

14:00-15:30: Session 3

15:30-16:00: Cake Break

16:00-18:00: Session 4

[edit] 4 Organisers