ACM SIGPLAN 2006 Haskell Workshop
Call for Papers

Portland, Oregon
17 September, 2006


The Haskell Workshop 2006 will be part of the 2006 International Conference on Functional Programming (ICFP) as an associated, ACM SIGPLAN sponsored workshop. Previous Haskell Workshops have been held in La Jolla (1995), Amsterdam (1997), Paris (1999), Montreal (2000), Firenze (2001), Pittsburgh (2002), Uppsala (2003), Snowbird (2004), and Tallinn (2005).


The purpose of the Haskell Workshop is to discuss experience with Haskell, and possible future developments for the language. The scope of the workshop includes all aspects of the design, semantics, theory, application, implementation, and teaching of Haskell. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

Papers in the latter two categories need not necessarily report original research results; they may instead, for example, report practical experience that will be useful to others, re-usable programming idioms, or elegant new ways of approaching a problem. The key criterion for such a paper is that it makes a contribution from which other practitioners can benefit. It is not enough simply to describe a program!

Submission details

Submission deadline:Friday, 2 June 2006 (23:00 Samoa standard time, UTC -11)
Notification: Monay, 3 July 2006

Authors should send their papers to Andres Löh ( by e-mail. Submitted papers should be in (postscript or) portable document format, formatted using the ACM SIGPLAN style guidelines. Papers should not exceed 12 pages in length.

Accepted papers will be published by the ACM and will appear in the ACM Digital Library.

If there is sufficient demand, we will try to organise a time slot for system or tool demonstrations. If you are interested in demonstrating a Haskell related tool or application, please send a brief demo proposal to Andres Löh (

Programme Committee

Koen Claessen, Chalmers University, Sweden
Bastiaan Heeren, Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands
Paul Hudak, Yale University, US
Isaac Jones, Galois Connections, US
Gabriele Keller, University of New South Wales, Australia
Oleg Kiselyov, FNMOC, US
Andres Löh (chair), Universität Bonn, Germany
Conor McBride, University of Nottingham, UK
Shin-Cheng Mu, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Andrew Tolmach, Portland State University, US


Last update: 05 May 2006.