Haskell.org is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that oversees the Haskell.org website and a number of other services for the Haskell community:

Haskell.org also organizes Haskell’s participation in the Google Summer of Code program.

Haskell.org Committee

The Haskell.org Committee serves as the board of directors for Haskell.org. Its responsibilities include:

  • setting the policy for haskell.org domain and subdomains
  • setting policy for servers owned or financed by Haskell.org
  • overseeing Haskell.org donations and funds

Committee Membership

The committee consists of 7 members serving 3-year terms. The current members are:

  • Ryan Trinkle (term ends 2020)
  • Tikhon Jelvis (term ends 2020)
  • George Wilson (term ends 2020)
  • Emily Pillmore (term ends 2021)
  • Jasper Van der Jeugt (Chair) (term ends 2022)
  • Rebecca Skinner (term ends 2022)
  • Alexandre Garcia de Oliveira (term ends 2022)

In November of each year—or if a member steps down before their term is over—the committee holds an open call for new members, encouraging self-nominations. Committee members whose terms are over are eligible for renomination.

Committee members do not need to be deep technical Haskell experts. Instead we look for enthusiasm towards improving the Haskell community. We aim to represent the different facets of the community. We aim to be diverse in terms of industry or research, and in terms of gender, race and location.

After nominations have been solicited, the current committee—including any outgoing members—selects new members with a simple majority vote.

While this has never occurred in the past, Committee members can also be removed by majority vote.


The Committee uses the haskell-community for public discussion. Proposals and meeting notes are stored in a public repository.