Haskell logo

The Haskell Symposium


The Haskell Symposium is an annual symposium organized in affiliation with the International Conference on Functional Programming (ICFP). The symposium is sponsored by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) under the aegis of the ACM Special Interest Group on Programming Languages (SIGPLAN).


The purpose of the Haskell Symposium is to discuss experience with Haskell, and future developments for the language. The scope of the symposium includes all aspects of the design, semantics, theory, application, implementation, and teaching of Haskell.

Past Haskell Workshops and Symposia

Before 2008, the Haskell Symposium was known as the Haskell Workshop. The name change reflects the steady increase of influence of the Haskell Workshop on the wider community, as well as an increasing numbers of high quality submissions making the acceptance process highly competitive.

     Year    Place   PC Chair
     1995 La Jolla Proceedings Paul Hudak

1997 Amsterdam Proceedings John Launchbury

1999 Paris Proceedings (local copy) Erik Meijer

2000 Montreal Papers Graham Hutton

2001 Firenze Proceedings (local copy) Ralf Hinze

2002 Pittsburgh Proceedings (ACM DL) Manuel Chakravarty

2003 Uppsala Proceedings (ACM DL) Johan Jeuring

2004 Snowbird Proceedings (ACM DL) Henrik Nilsson

2005 Tallinn Proceedings (ACM DL) Daan Leijen

2006 Portland Proceedings (ACM DL) Andres Löh

2007 Freiburg Proceedings (ACM DL) Gabriele Keller

2008 Victoria
Proceedings (ACM DL)
Andy Gill

2009 Edinburgh
Proceedings (ACM DL)
Stephanie Weirich

2010 Baltimore
Proceedings (ACM DL), Videos  
Jeremy Gibbons

2011 Tokyo
Proceedings (ACM DL)
Koen Claessen

2012 Copenhagen  
Proceedings (ACM DL)
Janis Voigtländer

2013 Boston Proceedings (ACM DL) Chung-chieh Shan

2014 Göteborg Proceedings (ACM DL) Wouter Swierstra

Steering Committee


The main purpose of the Haskell Symposium Steering Committee is to provide continuity of the symposium and to offer help and advice to the current organizer(s) of the symposium.

The responsibilities of the steering committee are:


  1. The Haskell Symposium Steering Committee comprises the three previous Program Chairs, the current Haskell Symposium Chair, and three appointed Members-At-Large.
  2. Each year, around the date of the Haskell Symposium, the Steering Committee, in consultation with the SIGPLAN Chair, appoints the Program Chair for the next Haskell Symposium. The steering committee additionally appoints a new Member-At-Large to succeed the currently longest serving Member-At-Large. The new Haskell Symposium Program Chair and the newly appointed Member-At-Large then join the Steering Committee, while the longest serving former Program Chair and Member-At-Large step down.
  3. The chair of the Steering Committee is the longest serving former Program Chair.
  4. Should there be vacancies within the Steering Committee, e.g. due to a member stepping down early, the Steering Committee appoints members to fill the vacancies and, if necessary, decides on the succession ordering.

Current Members

   Kathleen Fisher Tufts University Member-At-Large end of term 2017
   Zhenjiang Hu National Institute of Informatics, Japan   Member-At-Large   end of term 2016
   Ben Lippmeier University of New South Wales HS Chair 2015 end of term 2018
   Bruno Oliveira National University of Singapore Member-At-Large end of term 2015
   Chung-chieh Shan   Indiana University HS Chair 2013 end of term 2016
   Wouter Swierstra University of Utrecht HS Chair 2014 end of term 2017
   Janis Voigtländer University of Bonn HS Chair 2012 end of term 2015

Past Members

Past members include the Programme Committee chairs of prior iterations of the symposium, as well as the following Members-At-Large.

   John Launchbury 2004 - 2007

Manuel Chakravarty  2005 - 2008

Doaitse Swierstra 2006 - 2009

Colin Runciman 2007 - 2010

John Hughes 2008 - 2011

Peter Thiemann 2009 - 2012

Mark Jones 2010 - 2013

Lennart Augustsson 2011 - 2014

Program Committee

The Program Committee is responsible for the technical content of the Haskell Symposium. The Haskell Symposium Program Chair, with the approval of the Steering Committee, appoints the Program Committee and leads its work.

Maintained using Darcs